Hall of Fame Dedicated at Center

Hall of Fame Dedicated at Center

 Brandi, Kenny and Tyrone pose with their gold medals that were on display for Saturday’s ceremony.

Brandi, Kenny and Tyrone pose with their gold medals that were on display for Saturday’s ceremony. Photo by Louise Krafft.

— The lobby at the Charles Houston Recreation Center was bursting with guests for the dedication and unveiling ceremony of the new Charles Houston Mural and Hall of Fame on Saturday afternoon, June 22.

More than 70 names of individuals and architectural structures appear in the new displays. Mayor Bill Euille, in a letter to the selection committee, noted: “Individuals, living or deceased, are honored for the significant strides made in their own lives, their contributions to the quality of life in the city’s African American community, or their impact on the lives of African Americans in the City of Alexandria.”

The Charles Houston Recreation Center Ad-Hoc Naming Committee includes: Julian Haley, Robert Dawkins, Louis Hicks, Andrew Winfree, John Taylor, Sheila Whiting, James Beatty, Gwendolyn Henderson, James Henson Sr., Dorothy Turner and Catherine Ward.

Chosen for the Alexandria African American Hall of Fame are: Andrew W. Adkins, Helen Lumpkins Day, Ferris Holland, Dr. Rutherford H. Adkins, Arnold Thurmond, Charles Price, Edward L. Patterson, Jacqueline LaMarr Henry-Green, Dr. Arthur Dawkins, Edward “Jose” Hernandez, Harry Burke, Eugene Thompson, Carlton A. Funn Sr., Nellie Brooks Quander, Ardelia Hunter, Christine Howard, William D. Euille, Earl Cook, Ferdinand D. Day, Judy Belk, Marie Bradby, Mable Lyles, Adrienne Terrell Washington, Cathy Grimes Miller, Judge Nolan Dawkins, Dr. Thea James, Eudora Lyles, Ella O. Lewis, Dorothy Turner, Thomas “Pete” Jones, Olander Banks Sr., John Wesley Jackson, Richard A. Diggs, Charles A. Hall, Arthur Bracey, General Leo Austin Brooks Sr., Thomas H. Turner, Andrew Winfree, Derek Lymus, Dr. John O. Peterson Sr., Lloyd Alexander Lewis, Louise Massoud, Lillie Finklea, Douglas Cross, Brandi Cross, Tyrone Cross, Earl Lloyd, Oliver Ellis, William “Red” Jackson, Keith Burns, Horace Burton, Louis R. Harris Jr., Antonio “Tony” Hunt, James “Jimmy” Lewis, Robert L. Cross, Berita Willis, Shirley Marshall-Lee, Terry Adkins, Robert Adkins, Walter Griffin, Roland Scott, Courtney Brooks and Aaron Anderson Jr.

The mural and hall of fame are permanent installations at the Charles Houston Recreation Center and may be viewed during the center’s regular operating hours.