Potomac School Notes

Potomac School Notes

Montgomery County Parks is offering camps this summer, featuring programs including sports, nature, ice skating, tennis, gardening, fishing and more. Camps and summer programs are available for tots to teens at all skill levels and at locations across the county. Details about all Montgomery Parks camps are available online at www.MontgomeryParks.org/Camps.

Margaret E. Antonsen graduated from Washington and Lee University.

Ana Sofia Noelie Recalt graduated with a B.A. in sociology from Wittenberg University.

Julie Fainberg, a humanities/prelaw major named to the dean’s list at Florida Institute of Technology for the spring semester.

Samantha Shane graduated from Bowdoin College in Maine with a major in history and a Spanish minor.

Emily Wilde was awarded a bachelor of arts degree from Connecticut College, she was a psychology-based human relations major.

Kathryn Haynes graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Indiana University with a bachelor’s degree in psychology. She was named magna cum laude, with high distinction from Hutton Honors College. She will continue her education in the fall at Duke University, to pursue a doctorate degree in physical therapy. Kathryn graduated from Winston Churchill High School in 2009.

Dylan T. Thayer, son of Jody and Bradley Thayer of Potomac, received a bachelor of arts degree from Hamilton College

The following residents received degrees from Clark University: Daniel Jonathan Martin, who graduated with a doctorate of philosophy in economics; Anna F. Wedderien, who graduated with a bachelor of arts in French; and Alyssa C. Kogan, who graduated summa cum laude with a bachelor of arts in international development and social change. Kogan is also a member of the Phi Beta Kappa honor society.

Todd Michael Erickson, a packaging science major and John Minich, an accounting major both have been named to the dean's list at Clemson University for spring 2013.

The following local students were awarded dean's list honors for the spring 2013 semester at St. Mary's College of Maryland: Elaine Bucknam, Emily Buetow, Madeline Casey, Kevin Goral, Michelle Livshin, Stephania Mercado, Erin O'Connor, Clara O'Shaughnessy, Alexander Roca, Lydia Roca, Michael Shilling, and Nguyen-Khuong Than.

The following residents made the dean’s list during the spring semester of the 2012-13 academic year at Bucknell University: Arielle G. Barnett, Pauline M. Dmitriev, Joseph P. Kale, and Meili G. Sohl.

Local recipients of National Merit Scholarship Corporation college-sponsored scholarships, their intended career field, and sponsoring university or college, include: Souvik Ghosh, studying computer engineering at University of Maryland; Kathleen Y. Lu, studying computer science at The University of Chicago; and Heidi J. Shiau, studying accounting at the University of Maryland.