Better Sports Club Preparing for Annual Banquet

Better Sports Club Preparing for Annual Banquet

The Better Sports Club of Arlington will hosts its 52nd annual end-of-season banquet on May 28 at the Knights of Columbus Hall, 5115 Little Falls Road in Arlington.

The social hour begins at 6 p.m. and the award ceremony will commence at 7 p.m.

Tickets are $35.

Local sportscaster Ken Mease will be the master of ceremonies, while American University basketball coach Jeff Jones will be the featured speaker.

The club was founded in 1957, and will be celebrating its 52nd annual banquet with a formal dinner and guest speaker. Past speakers include boxer Rocky Marciano, college basketball coach Charles “Lefty” Driesell and newspaper columnist Christine Brennan.

The club will honor each major high school sport with a sportsmanship award. The four most prestigious awards will also be handed out, with the Billy Castleberry Award, the Arlington Coach of the Year, Athlete of the Year and Sportsman of the Year being awarded to local athletes.

Past Athlete of the Year winners include former Olympic swimming gold medalists Shelley Mann and Tom Dolan, as well as former standouts like Washington-Lee’s Ed Hummer and O’Connell’s Eric Metcalf that went onto storied NBA and NFL careers respectively.

Jay Jacob Wind will become the 30th member of the Arlington Sports Hall of Fame, an independent charitable organization. Wind is the first inductee since William Havens, Jr. and current Bishop O’Connell softball coach Tom Orndorff were honored in 2006.

The Better Sports Club holds monthly dinner meetings and conducts fund raising activities throughout the year. For information regarding tickets, contact Jim Walsh at (703) 534-3152 or Rick Schumann at 703-241-0390.