General Assembly Honors Westfield Principal Campbell

General Assembly Honors Westfield Principal Campbell

Last December, Westfield High Principal Mike Campbell received the Nancy F. Sprague First-Year Administrator award as Fairfax County's 2006 outstanding first-year principal.

Last Tuesday, May 16, the General Assembly also honored him for this achievement. After Campbell acknowledged the achievements of several Westfield teachers and staff members, Del. Tim Hugo (R-40th), said, "We understand there's a good leader here, too."

Present for last week's ceremony at the school were Hugo, Sen. Mark Herring (D-33rd) and LuAnn McNabb, legislative assistant to Del. Chuck Caputo (D-67th), as well as Sully District School Board representative Kathy Smith, Supervisor Michael R. Frey (R-Sully), Assistant Superintendent of Cluster VII Betsy Goodman and Assistant Coordinator for Cluster VIII Phyllis Pajardo.

HUGO INTRODUCED the legislation for a resolution in the General Assembly, and Herring, Caputo, Sen. Jay O'Brien (R-39th, Sen. Ken Cuccinelli (R-37th) and Del. Tom Rust (R-86th) were co-patrons. The document congratulated the county School Board and citizens for having Campbell as a principal.

The resolution describes Campbell as a hardworking and conscientious administrator, committed to his goal of "excellence in all endeavors" to improve the quality of education for all students at Westfield.

Since taking over the helm, two years ago, he's added many innovative programs and activities. He's worked with parents and staff to close the minority student achievement gap and found ways to elevate SOL, SAT and AP test scores.

Calling Campbell a "visionary who works tirelessly" for the school, Hugo said, "We just wanted to thank you; we appreciate all you do." And Herring echoed his sentiments. Then McNabb, speaking as a parent of two boys at Westfield, thanked Campbell for his "cool, calm presence in what can be a chaotic high school."

"This is really a great honor," replied Campbell. "[But] this is not just an award for Mike Campbell, it's also an award for Westfield High School." He then acknowledged his bosses, Goodman, Smith and Pajardo, for all their support, as well as the parents and PTSA President Dana Cimino. And to the faculty, he added, "It's not possible without a great staff, and I thank you all."

FACULTY AND STAFF members recognized by Campbell for their own achievements were as follows:

Ginny Muller, Fairfax County Business Teacher of the Year; Sue Bradshaw, Phi Delta Kappa Teacher of the Year; Joann Morgan, Cafeteria manager and runner-up for Support Employee of the Year; and Julia Hoffman, Fine and Performing Arts Department chair, honored by FCPS for Best Practices for Westfield High's award-winning Web site.

Teacher Sara Hagan was awarded a Fulbright Scholarship; Walt Addie, Herndon/Dulles Chamber of Commerce Teacher of the Year; Cindy Swajkowski, state Social Studies Teacher of the Year; Sharon Denisar, the ARC's 17th annual Educational Leadership Award; and Gary Bender, the Virginia Gazette Award from the Virginia Association of Journalism Teachers and Advisers.