Ceremonies Honor Students

Ceremonies Honor Students

West Potomac and Mount Vernon students receive awards and scholarships.

Three million dollars. According to Betsy Galeota, that is the total amount that the senior class of West Potomac High School received in scholarship, grant and award money.

Announcements of those awards and scholarships were made at a special Convocation Ceremony held last Tuesday at West Potomac — two days before graduation. Dozens of students received awards and scholarships, including military and JROTC awards, West Potomac Department Awards, Academic Subject Awards, College Scholarships, Memorial Scholarships and several other commendations.

Nicholas Jachowski received nine scholarships totaling $72,350; while Lauren Arthur was awarded a full athletic scholarship to Campbell University. Alex Arnold has a full scholarship to New York University; Emmanuel Gamor a full scholarship to the University of Florida and Crystal Duffield a full athletic scholarship to Wake Forest University. Amanda Thomas received six scholarships totaling $86,000; one of those was a scholarship from the Rotary Club of Alexandria. It was presented by Ken Kozloff, administrator, Inova Alexandria Hospital.

“When we read her application, it jumped off the page,” Kozloff said. “I would pay very close attention to this young lady. In her interview, she exuded so much confidence that I’m sure she will be the president of the United States or of a company.”

MOUNT VERNON High School students also fared well. Erin Kennedy, guidance counselor, said that the students received more than $350,000. Departmental awards were awarded for athletics, business, family and consumer science, English, journalism, fine and performing arts, foreign language, mathematics, science and social studies.

Several colleges, including Marymount University, Radford University, University of Virginia and Virginia Union University, awarded scholarships. Many local organizations also presented awards, including the Fairfax County Council of PTAS; Mount Vernon-Lee Chamber of Commerce; Fort Belvoir Officers Wives Club; and the MVHS Theatre Boosters Performing Arts Club.

Hasina Lewis received several awards, as did Haley Parker, Eboni Blake, Phillip Deneault, Julissa Campos, Kellye Sorber, Whitney Zangarine and Stefanie Marenco.

Blake, who will be attending University of North Caroline-Chapel Hill, was surprised when the Janice M. Scott Memorial Fund presented her with a $10,000 check. This fund was established to commemorate the men and women lost during Sept. 11. This particular award was in honor of Lt. Col. Dennis Johnson, whose widow was there to help present the award.

Receiving the President’s Award for Educational Achievement were: Danielle Bartholomew, David De Freitas-Gonzalez, Theodore Luster, T’Shael Tufford, Anastasha Branam, Shannon Herndon, and Akyra Steward. Sixty-four students received the President’s Award for Education Excellence.