School Notes

School Notes

<lst>Know something that should be featured in School Notes? Awards? Special events? School fairs? Fax a brief write-up to 703-917-0991. Or call Michael O’Connell at 703-917-6440.

"Breakfast with Santa." The Personality Show Choir of West Springfield High School presents breakfast with Santa on Saturday, Dec. 13. Costumed characters will perform a medley of Disney tunes in the school auditorium at 9:30 a.m., followed by breakfast and a visit with Santa and Mrs. Claus. Get tickets early; the breakfast was sold out last year. Reservations are $6 per person in advance and $7 per person at the door. For questions and reservations, call Kim Dameron at 703-913-9308.

Need the help of a reliable teenager? West Springfield High School maintains a job and volunteer opportunity board. Students come to the Career Center at school to obtain information about part-time jobs and volunteer needs. From babysitting to yard work to word processing, there is a student to help. Contact the Career Center at 703-913-3828 with a description of the job, hours and contact information.

MOMS Club of Burke sponsors its 3rd Annual Preschool Fair Thursday, Jan. 8, 2004 from 1-3:30 p.m. at the Burke Volunteer Fire Department Meeting Hall, 9501 Old Burke Lake Road in Burke. The fair is free and open to the public. Over 20 preschools from Burke and the surrounding area will attend. Parents are invited to gather information and talk with the attending preschool directors all in one location. Contact Elizabeth Rossini at or 703-278-8060 or Kathy Krug at or 703-503-3455.

The Hayfield Secondary School students who achieved special recognition from the Educational Testing Service for their performance on the advanced placement tests are as follows: AP Diploma winners Russell Briggs, Thomas Denfield, Geoffrey Hale, Matthew Hartley, Alexander King, Louis Pavia, Terry Stedman, Theresa Tolpa and Eric Weatherwax; AP Scholar winners Ken Baldassari, Ryan Bettwy, Shoshana Biederman, Alan Enjetti, Chelsea Greenmore, Rasneek Gujral, Geoffrey Hale, Jamie Henkel, Ashley Hess, Samuel Hotchkiss, Jennifer Joyce, Tyler Kelley, Michael Miller, Jennifer Moore, Andrew Nelson, Timothy Peterson, Erika Roos, Joseph Ruchlewicz, Rebecca Ruel, Matthre Scarborough, Matthrew Schroeder and Kerney Scott; Scholar with Honors winners Laura Cammarata, Thomas Denfield, Jennifer Hoyt, Alexander King, Ian McCormack, Mariya Pantukhina, Louis Pavia, Kimberly Peck, David Rubel, Danielle Wassel and Eric Weatherwax; Scholar with Distinction winners Russell Briggs, Matthew Hartley, Terry Steadman and Theresa Tolpa.

Hayfield Secondary has a number of musicians who have been chosen to the District 10 Orchestra, comprised of both middle and high schoolers from Northern Virginia. The musicians will rehearse with a guest conductor on Jan. 8, 9 and 10 and then play a concert on the last day.

District X Junior Orchestra: Yena Lee, Matt Hewell (1st Chair), Byron Cheon, Jennifer Witt, Michael Liu, Stefan Neher, Megan Lee, Hannah Moser, Jung Park, Lauren Greenlee, Young Kim Grace Kim, Taylor Swansen, Jane Albertson, and Matt Gerton.

District X Senior Orchestra: Madeline Allard, Chris Tolpa, Kim Campbell, JP Pantoja, John Bae, Taehun Choi, Julie Koziski, Danica-ella Pantoja and Narang Choi.

Stephanie M. Marcelline of Paul VI High School in Fairfax was awarded the Wells Fargo Award for Future Leaders in Business and Technology. The award honors high school juniors with excellent academic and leadership credentials and who also show promise in areas of business or technology. Wells Fargo Scholars will be considered for a four-year scholarship at St. Edward's University in Austin, Texas, where they would participate in exclusive networking and enrichment activities with Wells Fargo representatives.

The third annual MHz Shortz Student Film Festival is calling for entries. A part of the MHz Networks' division of EAT (Education Arts Technology), MHz Shortz features live action and animated films created by K - 12 students and teachers. All films for this year's entry must be submitted by March 19, 2004. Requirements and entry forms may be obtained directly from the MHz Networks Web site at

The MHz Shortz Student Film Festival is an opportunity to showcase student creativity and culminates in a public event featuring and awarding student films based on age appropriate entry categories. The festival also presents prizes for outstanding work and special awards for teachers who motivate, instruct, and advise student projects.

MHz Networks (MHz and MHz2) is an independent, noncommercial, television network delivering international, educational and arts programming. MHz provides diverse cultural perspectives for a globally minded audience. Serving the Washington, DC area's 4.3 million residents, MHz Networks features programs in more than 20 different languages from over 25 countries.

Long & Foster Real Estate is sponsoring a $150,000 Scholarship Program for well-rounded graduating high school seniors entering an accredited four-year college or university. The Long & Foster Scholarship Program will award $1,000 to each of 150 worthy recipients throughout the seven-state region for the 2004-2005 academic year. The deadline for applying is March 1, 2004 and the scholarships will be awarded beginning May 3, 2004. More than 1,200 applicants vied for the 125 scholarships in 2003. Scholarship candidates must have at least a 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale; demonstrate community involvement; provide a photo and submit an essay. Applications for the Long & Foster Scholarship Program can be obtained from any of Long & Foster's residential sales offices located throughout the Mid-Atlantic region, from high school guidance counselors, or via Long & Foster's Web Site at A hard copy of the application and the required attachments must be mailed by March 1, 2004 to Long & Foster Corporate Headquarters at the following address: Long & Foster Scholarship Program, c/o Corporate Marketing Department, Long & Foster Real Estate, Inc., 11351 Random Hills Road, Fairfax, VA 22030-6082, Attn: Colleen Park.