College Notes

College Notes

<lst>Know something that should be featured in College Notes? Awards? Honors? Special events? Fax a brief write-up to 703-917-0991, call Joy Allen at 703-917-6432 or send an e-mail to

Jeffrey R. Payne of Springfield has been named to the dean’s list at York College of Pennsylvania for the spring semester. Payne is the son of Don and Wendy Payne and a graduate of West Springfield High School. To be named to the list a student must carry at least a 12-credit load and earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

Daniel R. Richardson of Springfield, a rising senior at Virginia Tech and a four-year AF ROTC scholarship student, has been selected to serve as the regimental commander for the Virginia Tech Corps of Cadets. When he graduates with a degree in industrial systems engineering, Richardson will enter the Air Force as a pilot.

Kate Richardson of Springfield has been selected to the dean's list of the S.I. Newhouse College of Communications at Syracuse University. She is a double major in advertising and English.

Monica Berry of Lorton has been named to the dean's list for the spring semester at Christopher Newport University. Berry is a biology major and a 2002 graduate of West Springfield High.

Matthew B. Andrews of Springfield received the Malcolm Pirnie, Inc. Outstanding Environmental Engineering Undergraduate Student Award from the University of Delaware. This monetary award is given to an undergraduate student selected on the basis of academic excellence, participation in University and professional groups and activities, and community involvement. Andrews was also inducted into Tau Beta Pi, an honor society for engineering students.

University of Delaware student Keith M. Kirkwood of Springfield received a National Starch and Chemical Company Undergraduate Scholarship, based on a combination of demonstrated financial need and academic merit. The scholarship is presented to students in chemical engineering. Kirkwood was also inducted into Phi Alpha Theta, a national honor society for students of history.

John E. Kirkwood of Springfield was inducted into Tau Beta Pi, an honor society at the University of Delaware that recognizes achievements in engineering.

Alexandria Lynn Wilson of Springfield was named to the president's list at Campbell University in Blues Creek, N.C. for the spring semester. To be named to the president's list, a student must maintain a grade point average of 3.5 or higher on all college work attempted.

Kristin D'Ann Horton of Springfield earned her master's of fine arts degree in theater arts from University of Iowa in Iowa City this past May.

Jocelyn Janelle Stevens, an interdisciplinary studies major, has been named to the dean's list for the spring semester at Stephen F. Austin State University. To be eligible for this honor, a student must be enrolled in 12 or more hours and maintain an high grade point average.