<ro>Upcoming Performances

<lst>“Blast from the Past,” Winston Churchill High School's 13th annual rock music revue, is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. on April 19, 20, 26 and 27, and 2 p.m. on April 20 and 27. The theme of this year's show, "United We Rock," will highlight American music as well as honor America and its heroes. The musical numbers include songs from the 1950s, the disco period, country music and the Motown era. Tickets cost $10 and $15 and can be purchased in advance. Call 301-469-1243 or e-mail

“Brigadoon,” by Lerner and Lowe, is the spring musical of Thomas S. Wootton High School, 2100 Wootton Parkway in Rockville. Show dates are April 18, 20, 21, 26 and 27, at 7:30 p.m. A matinee will be held April 21 at 2 p.m. Reserved seats are $10; general admission is $6. Call 301-279-8582.

'Curtains Up!' Bullis School, 10601 Falls Road, presents a musical revue Thursday, Friday and Saturday, April 18-20, at 7 p.m. in its new Performing Arts Center. Music includes oldies, Broadway and pop. Tickets are $5 for adults; $3 for seniors and students. Call 301-299-8500.

Spring Dance Concert presented by students at Montgomery College, 51 Mannakee St. in Rockville. Show times are Friday-Saturday, April 26-27, 8 p.m.; Sunday, April 28 at 2 p.m. Tickets are $6-$8. Call 301-279-5301.

Winston Churchill High School, 11300 Gainsborough Road in Potomac, will hold a Rededication Ceremony, a community celebration in honor of its renovated facilities at 2 p.m. in the Dr. Gertrude G. Bish Auditorium. The school will also hold an open house from 3-5 p.m. featuring student exhibits, demonstrations and performances. Call 301-469-1200.

“Communicating Success to Children” is a workshop offered by the YMCA Bethesda Youth Services at Ayrlawn YMCA Program Center. The course will help participants develop skills such as listening and communication, maintaining effective consequences, structuring choices, ending power struggles and training children to be responsible. Classes will be held on Thursdays from 7-8:30 p.m. for six weeks beginning April 18. The fee is $15 and covers registration and materials. Call to register at 301-229-1347.

Montgomery County Public Libraries celebrates the Month of the Young Child in April with a link on its home page — "Help Me Grow" at — that will provide information on a variety of library programs for child care providers. After April, information may be accessed online through the library's Kidsite link. Call 240-777-0005.

Awards or achievements:

Karen Weaver of Potomac has made the dean's list at Lasell College in Newton, Mass., for the 2001 fall semester. Weaver is majoring in early-childhood education.

Benedict Semmes, son of Dana and Guy Semmes of Potomac and a graduate of Churchill, has been named to the dean's list at Colgate University in Hamilton, N.Y., for the fall 2001 semester. He is currently studying Spanish history, literature and language in Madrid, Spain.

The National Achievement Scholarship Program, a privately financed academic competition for outstanding Black American high school students, has announced local winners for 2002. Potomac residents: Jessica M. Holsey, a student at Sidwell Friends School in Washington, D.C., won $2,500 toward a career in business; and Okechukwu W. Iweala, a student at St. Alban’s School in Washington, D.C., won a NMSC scholarship (amount undisclosed) toward a career in medicine. In Bethesda: Ellen A. Dabela, a student at Walt Whitman High School, won $2,500 toward her career of choice; and Sarah M. Talkovsky, a student at Walt Whitman High School, won $2,500 toward a career in education.

William R. Carleton, son of Curtis and Nancy Carleton of Potomac, and Rebecca L. Greenberg, daughter of Jay and Judith Greenberg of Rockville, have been named to the dean’s list at Bates College in Lewiston, Maine, for the first semester of the 2001-02 academic year. To achieve this honor, students must achieve and maintain a B-plus average for the semester.

The following students have been named to the dean’s list at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio: Potomac residents Caitlin Neal Carlock, Eve Sarah Copeland, Benjamin Jacob Hordell and Leah Rachel Kritzer; Rockville residents Sarah Whitcraft Cooper and Paula Flint Moran; and Bethesda resident Sara Ann Perlstein. They achieved this honor with a 3.5 or better grade point average for the first semester of the 2001-02 academic year.